State University of New York at Old Westbury

Rate this item
(0 votes)
State University of New York at Old Westbury

The State University of New York College at Old Westbury is a public college that is part of the State University of New York system. The college is in Old Westbury, New York, with portions in the neighboring town of Jericho, New York. With nearly 4,500 students, SUNY College at Old Westbury serves as the only public liberal arts college on Long Island.

The State University of New York College at Old Westbury was founded in 1965 by the State University of New York Board of Trustees. It began in 1968 at Planting Fields, the former Coe Estate and arboretum in Oyster Bay, New York. In 1971, the College moved to its present Old Westbury site in Nassau County on Long Island — an estate, known as "Broad Hollow," formerly owned by agriculturist, industrialist, sportsman and philanthropist F. Ambrose Clark.

There are over 50 degrees available at the college.

Of the College’s 160 full-time professors, approximately 80% hold the highest degree in their discipline. Eight members of the faculty have been named Distinguished Teaching or Service Professors by the State University of New York, which are among the highest ranks available in the University system.

Old Westbury faculty members are engaged in research, publication, and public service. In the 2009-10 academic year, the College faculty earned approximately $1,345,000 in research and service funding from such sources as the National Science Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the National Institutes for Health.

Academic offerings are housed in three schools.

The School of Arts and Sciences is home to the following departments: American Studies/Media & Communications; Biological Sciences; Chemistry and Physics; English; History and Philosophy; Mathematics, Computer and Information Science; Modern Languages; Politics, Economics and Law; Industrial and Labor Relations; Psychology; Sociology, which offers the BS in Criminology, and the BS and the BA in Sociology; and Visual Arts.

The School of Business is composed of the Accounting, Taxation and Business Law Department, the Management, Marketing and Department.

The School of Education in 2006 was accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, which describes itself as "the profession’s mechanism to help establish high quality teacher preparation."

More in this category: « Farmingdale State College

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.